Login | STScI Home | HubbleSite | Copyright, Content Use, and Policies
2013 Science Colloquia Webcasts
Wednesday Dec 18, 2013
2013 Science Colloquia
Brian Metzger (Columbia University)
Abstract: Coalescing stellar mass compact objects (binary neutron stars and black holes) are the most promising sources for the direct detection of gravitational waves by Advanced LIGO and Virgo in the next few years. However, maximizing the scient ...
Wednesday Dec 11, 2013
2013 Science Colloquia
Karl Gebhardt (University of Texas-Austin)
A galaxy's black hole mass and dark matter profile provide significant clues as to its evolution and formation, namely the mass accretion history. These essential components are difficult to measure robustly however. I will give a general overview of ...
Wednesday Nov 6, 2013
2013 Science Colloquia
Avi Loeb (Harvard University)
Several new techniques are currently being employed to probe the strong gravitational field in the vicinity of supermassive black holes. Long baseline interferometry at sub-millimeter wavelengths sets constraints on the silhouette of the black holes ...
Wednesday Sep 18, 2013
2013 Science Colloquia
Jane Rigby (NASA-Goddard)
No description found.
Wednesday Sep 11, 2013
2013 Science Colloquia
Fabio Governato (University of Washington)
Wednesday May 29, 2013
2013 Science Colloquia
Jennifer (Jeno) Sokoloski  (Columbia University)
Wednesday May 22, 2013
2013 Science Colloquia
John Johnson (Caltech)
No description found.
Wednesday May 15, 2013
2013 Science Colloquia
Tori Hoehler  (NASA Ames)
No description found.
Wednesday May 8, 2013
2013 Science Colloquia
Mark Krumholz (University of California, Santa Cruz)
Wednesday May 1, 2013
2013 Science Colloquia
Scott Gaudi  (Ohio State University)
Measurements of the demographics of exoplanets over a broad range of planet and host star properties provide fundamental empirical constraints on theories of planet formation and evolution. Because of its unique sensitivity to low-mass, long-period, ...
Wednesday Apr 24, 2013
2013 Science Colloquia
Simon Portegies Zwart  (Leiden University, Netherlands)
No description found.
Wednesday Apr 17, 2013
2013 Science Colloquia
Jean-Paul Kneib (Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne)
Wednesday Apr 3, 2013
2013 Science Colloquia
Judd Bowman (Arizona State University)
The Murchison Widefield Array (MWA) is the first radio telescope in the Southern Hemisphere designed specifically to explore the astronomical sky between 80 and 300 MHz with arcminute angular resolution and high survey efficiency. The telescope has ...
Wednesday Mar 20, 2013
2013 Science Colloquia
Ranga Chary (Caltech)
Wednesday Mar 13, 2013
2013 Science Colloquia
Charlie Conroy (University of California, Santa Cruz)
One of the main avenues for understanding the formation and evolution of early-type galaxies is through studying their present day stellar populations. A new generation of population synthesis tools that we have been developing are now capable of ex ...
Wednesday Feb 20, 2013
2013 Science Colloquia
Rachel Mandelbaum (Carnegie Mellon University)
Wednesday Feb 13, 2013
2013 Science Colloquia
Lucianne Walkowicz (Princeton University)
Although the primary purpose of NASA's Kepler mission is the discovery of exoplanets, its high precision photometry also reveals the effects of stellar magnetic activity in exquisite detail. These phenomena present on a variety of timescales, from sp ...
Wednesday Feb 6, 2013
2013 Science Colloquia
Nima Arkani-Hamed (IAS/JHU)
No description found.